Music Monday – Noah and the Whale

My wife Rachel and I just got back from a brief trip to Montana to visit my family, which I plan to write about later this week. While on the way home yesterday I thought it would be fun to stop at the Electric Fetus in St. Could. The Electric Fetus is a small chain of record stores here in the Minnesota and the one in Minneapolis is my favorite record store and is where I buy most of my music. They also have a location in Duluth which I’ve been to, but I’ve never been to the one in St. Cloud. Another reason I wanted to stop there was to pick up the new album by Noah and the Whale.

The main reason I know of Noah and the Whale is because Laura Marling used to be a member of the band. This fact fixed Noah and the Whale onto my radar even though I didn’t know much else about them. Several months ago I learned they would be releasing a new album and had released a music video of their first single called “L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.” The song had me hooked with its catchy chorus and was enough to convince me to buy the album.

After I picked up the album entitled Last Night On Earth at the St. Could Electric Fetus, Rachel and I got in the car to drive the rest of the way home to Minneapolis. I put the album on and immediately Rachel says, “What is this music? It’s so 80s.”  A couple songs later she asked half joking half serious, “Why do you like this?” And honestly I didn’t have a response, like I said; I’d only heard the one song before. But now that I’ve heard the whole album I can say, I do like it, at least for now. It certainly does have an 80s vibe as Rachel pointed out, punctuated by keyboard and drum synths. I also noticed that they remind me of Tom Petty in a lot of ways. There are elements of folk and country influences on this album as well and from what I’ve heard those are sounds that were more prominent in Noah and the Whale’s early work. All these elements combined made for a good first impression and I’m going to go ahead and recommend this album. The verdict is still out on whether or not it will have lasting appeal, but I guess you’ll have to wait and see if it makes my EOTY list or not.

Below I’ve posted the video to the song, “L.I.F.E.G.O.E.S.O.N.” I mentioned earlier. On its own I’d say this is one of the best songs of the year so far. Also, I’ve included an older Noah and the Whale song featuring Laura Marling. Oh, and if you don’t know who Laura Marling is, you should check her out, she’s an amazing folk singer and songwriter.

Vodpod videos no longer available. Vodpod videos no longer available.
Leave a Reply

