My Top 25 Favorite Albums of the Decade – 13

blink-182 or untitled (depending on who you ask) by blink -182

I was once quoted in a magazine about this album (seriously!).  I said something along the lines of, “this is the definition of progression.”  Blink-182 has always been a band who steps it up with each release but with this album they reinvented themselves.  Before you could pretty much expect straight vocals, guitar, bass and drums, the core of any punk band.  On this album however, the band very intentionally worked out how they wanted each instrument to sound on each song, giving them a whole new depth.  From beginning to end nothing ever sounds the same and yet the album so cohesively flows from one song to the next.  There is also an obvious change in the kinds of music blink-182 was influenced by in this album.  Foundationally this is still a punk album, but there are also elements of 90s emo, jazz, 80s synth and even hip hop.

2 thoughts on “My Top 25 Favorite Albums of the Decade – 13

  1. wow, i was expecting this to be in your top 5! this one definitely made my top 25. this was the first blink release that really made me appreciate them. i kind of started backwards.

    • Yeah, it was hard for me to decide where to place this album… I really love it a lot, but I guess there are other bands I felt were maybe more talented musically.

Leave a Reply

