My Top 25 Favorite Albums of the Decade – 14

Bleed American by Jimmy Eat World

One of the reasons I’ll always love Bleed American, is because of the fond memories it congers up.  I bought it used at Cheapo while visiting Minneapolis before I moved here.  My wife and I were dating at the time; she would drive me around the city and we would listen to this album over and over.  I remember one night in particular driving down 35W in the pouring rain.  The Minneapolis skyline was hazily lit before us and the song “Here You Me” seemed so fitting with the line, “there’s no one in town I know, you gave us some place to go.”

Musically what makes Bleed American memorable is its combination of rock and pop sensibility.  Blazing guitars and loud drumming abound, while each song is catchier than the song before.  I wouldn’t be surprised if Jimmy Eat World were listening to a lot of the early Beatles, Beach Boys and The Who when recording Bleed American.  The song writing is also strong throughout.  Singer Jim Adkins seemed to be writing a lot about heart break on this album, but without using the same old clichés.

3 thoughts on “My Top 25 Favorite Albums of the Decade – 14

  1. My favorite memory about this album is us playing air guitar and bass in the loft at dcm while rocking out to this album.

Leave a Reply

