The question of Children

My wife Rachel and I have been married for nearly three years. Before we were married we both knew we wanted to wait several years to have kids. Now three years in we’ve begun to discuss more frequently when we should start “trying.”

Growing up my view of having kids was shaped by being abandoned by my biologic father and having an often frustrating relationship with my step father. Both of these scenarios led me to want kids if only to prove I could do it better. This still holds true for me in many ways but now as I’m facing the reality of being father more thoughts and questions come to mind.

It isn’t even a question of whether or not I want kids; ultimately I do want kids. It’s more a question of why do I want kids and how will kids change me or change my marriage. Right now the answers don’t seem clear. I can certainly see the joy in having kids but I can also see the frustrations. Then there is simply the overwhelming fear I have of being a bad father. What if I make the same mistakes my biologic father made or what if I’m unable to establish a good relationship with my kids?

It’s really a daunting task having a life placed in your hands and until the doctor literal places that life in my hands for the first I don’t think I’ll be able to wrap my mind around it.

3 thoughts on “The question of Children

  1. As someone who has seen you interact with children in a semi-paternal way – playing, guiding and disciplining them, I can honestly say – and I am confident that every other person on our team would agree with me – that you will be a great father – remember that you are not governed by the examples your biological father and step-father have set for you, but by your heavenly Father who ultimately has built you up to be the strong, mature and wise man that you are.

    I have a feeling just about every man contemplating their offspring goes through wondering about these fears like you are – thankfully you have a wonderful wife to guide you and an ever-present God that will help you every step of the way!

    You're a good man and a good friend Darren! Rachel's a lucky woman and your future children will be blessed indeed to have a father (not to mention a great mother!) like you!

    Carrie Lascano

Leave a Reply

