Twins Stadium a.k.a. Target Field and the Economy

Today I had the opportunity to tour the construction site of the new Twins Stadium. I’m not a huge baseball fan or anything but I have to say it was pretty amazing. It was cool having an inside look that most people won’t have. We got to see where the private suites will be and we got to stand in the Twins dugout. The picture is of me standing at the future location of home plate. It’s from my camera phone so it’s not a very good picture. Anyway from what I can tell it’s going to be a very nice facility. It’s certainly in a interesting location… they really squeezed it in the space available. But what’s cool is that from the 3rd base seats there is a great view of downtown Minneapolis.

Even though it was certainly an enjoyable experience it did make me think about the economy and the current crisis we are in. I think what made me think of the economy was the fact that I was walking around this massive stadium in the midst of being built, and I can only imagine the cost of building such a structure. I thought “with things the way they are, will they even be able to finish construction.” Not that building a baseball field is very important in the grand scheme of things but it just reminded me of how up in the air things are.

The current state of the economy is not something I understood very well until this week. Every week I listen to the “This American Life” podcast. This week they did a show on the economy and why it’s falling apart. If you want to learn more about what’s been going on I highly recommend listening to this episode.

I have more to say on all of this but this post is getting kind of long so I’ll save my further thoughts on the economy for another post. So stay tuned for that and I should have some music reviews up very soon as well.

Darren

One thought on “Twins Stadium a.k.a. Target Field and the Economy

Leave a Reply

