First post (finally…)

My name is Darren and this is the very first post of my blog. I created this blog back in February 2008 while I was unemployed for a month. I was really bored at the time and I figured this would give me something to do. However, I never got around to posting anything and it’s just been sitting here dormant ever since. I figured it was about time to do something with it and see what happens.

The purpose of this blog… Hmmmm… I’m not sure what that is yet. Starting out it’s probable going to be a mish-mash of things. In time it may get more focused but who knows. I have to admit that as far as blogging is concerned I’ve been highly influenced by my friend Peter’s blog. He, like myself is a huge fan of all things music, which is one of the things he blogs about most. So be assured this blog will contain a lot of music related posts. I’m already getting geared up for a comprehensive review of my top albums of this year… stay tuned.

This blog will also serve as a way for me to simply practice writing. I’ve always really enjoyed writing but I’ve never had a good outlet for it. I’m not saying I’m a good writer by any means but I do want to get better, and my senior year English teacher in high school always said, “the best way to get better at writing is to just write.” So that’s what I’ll be doing. Time will definitely be an issue as I don’t have a lot of it, but I’m going to try to get something on here at least once a week.

One thing I don’t necessarily want this blog to become is a place to vent and complain about whatever. Because it could easily become that. I will obviously give my opinion and thoughts on various things, but I’m going to try very hard to not be Mr. Negative.

What’s in a name? The name of this blog is “The Wood Between the Worlds.” This is the title of one of the chapters of “The Magicians Nephew,” which is the first installment of The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. As I mentioned before I was unemployed when I created this blog and was reading the aforementioned book at the time. The title seemed fitting since I was in a time a transition. But I think the title still works because in life we are always in a state of transition it seems, plus it has a nice ring to it.

With all that said I must say this blog is mainly for me, but I’ll be glad if anyone stops by and checks it out. If that happens to be you, let me know what you think.

So without further adieu I introduce, The Wood Between the Worlds blog.

Darren

Leave a Reply

